Tags

,

I have always loved reading. It was a way to transport the self away from the real world. Some people have video games, some people have Television, I have books. (books don’t reduce your brainwaves the way television does). Reading has been a huge part of my life, since I was very small. Mom would read to me from Uncle Wiggly and Wind in the Willows before bed. (Does anyone else remember Uncle Wiggly?) Then I discovered the library, and I proceeded to read the entire Junior fiction section in my small town, and then moved on to the Sci fi and fiction shelves. I’d have finished the romance shelf and the western shelf too, if I hadn’t moved away and discovered more libraries, and wonder of wonders: used book stores. I know where every last one is in this city, and my bookshelves are looking a little harried, but my passion has not waned. In fact, I’m going to school to help me learn how to produce one or more of my own. Hopefully more than one, but one will be a major accomplishment. But how do you learn how to write well?

What better way to learn about how to write, than to read? All these published books, all these awards winning novels, short stories and poem collections are all winners for a reason. I have to thank Sean Virgo for articulating this idea so clearly, and getting me started on what he called a writer’s journal. I mean, I have journals, but mostly they contain snippets of my own ideas, observations made about people and things and what happened in a day and how those things that happened made me feel, how I reacted etc. This is a totally different type of thing. To read closely and look at what makes something appealing to the reader, and to figure out how it was done, and even to go so far as to try and copy certain techniques so see if they are compatible, or can be bent to my subject matter, my style, my words, my voice. I’m feeling quite enthusiastic about this concept. When I am done the one for class, I am going to transcribe what I have in there here, perhaps. We shall see.

