I admit, I picked this up mainly because Mr Findley had passed on and I wanted to read some of his work after reading the brief bio in the paper. I was not disappointed either. Findley is a divine author. I read this book in about three days. This novel is a reflective novel, meaning that it is based on the memory of the speaker of the story. The characters are vivid and human, especially that of Lily, the speaker’s mother. The speaker, Charlie, is trying to come to terms with his fear of becoming a father, because of the unique childhood he experienced with Lily, who was an epileptic. It takes place in the early 1900’s, and Lily’s illness is something that is little understood and perhaps feared, so that she is an outsider in so many ways. Her mystique and her internal mythology is totally captivating. Oh dear, I’m going to just gibber happily about this for pages if you don’t just go and read the freaking thing!! Go, now! go read some Findley!! He’s the master of multi-dimensional characters!

