Control

I was thinking about this at work, since there wasn’t much else to do besides fold things and think. This is an issue with me. I think that anyone who knows me should know why this is an issue with me. I hate being controlled, or manipulated. Of course, it’s two sides of the same coin, but the issue is the same. There is only one person on this entire planet that I have control of, and that’s me. I think this is why comments like ” control your woman”, or “reign in your man” really piss me off. (Really, really really piss me right the fuck off, actually) No one has the right to hold control over another adult simply because they’re dating or even married. In fact, I don’t see how anyone can have this kind of power over someone else unless it’s impossible for someone to make choices for themselves. I don’t know about you, but I’m perfectly capable of making choices and working with the consequences. Women didn’t fight for freedom and the right to choice just for me to give it up to the person I happen to fall in love with, did they? Nuh-uh.

So with this in mind, you can perhaps see why I am dating the man I’m dating. Control in this manner isn’t an issue. We do our thing, we cohabitate, coexist and cooperate. (ooo, alliteration…like.)

Anyway, End of rant. Have a good night.

