K, if I have to read any more of this book I won’t be happy. Ok, so it’s funny in parts, and it has its moments with good writing, on the whole, it’s just whacked…. That is all I have to say right now, because I am trying to write an essay on how Greek Mythology is important to the novel. There are allusions an references to it left right and center. The professor has even gone so far as to say that Kroetsch has gone so far as to retell the Odyssey. Even if he is, he’s really turned it on its head. Bah!

edit: Ok, so I finished it… but I tell you I’m still not totally sure what to think of it, aside from the fact that I probably won’t read it again. Not until I have reason. I mean, male virility is obviously very important to the novel, but one really can get tired of references to horse penises, you know? I suppose this is one I need more patience to read. Or not. It obviously didn’t do for me what it did for my proff…

