I’ve been trying to post something about the Christmas get-together with the clan, but it seems that my mind is a little recalcitrant in framing any sort of coherent thoughts on the subject. In translation: What I keep writing is just plain wooden and borig. Suffice it to say that it was an entertaining time and that I enjoyed being in the same room with all my family and eating turkey. Mmm. Tuurkey.

In other news, I reloaded my computer today, with much cursing and swearing, though remarkably less of it than last time I did it. Hopefully I don’t discover that I’ve left something out. It’s kind of nice to start out with the bare bones again.

I was talking to a fellow I often see in-game in Asheron’s Call, who I know as Sensus. Seems he’s signed on to become a marine – for a full four years of active duty. When I asked him why, he said “if I don’t, it’s one less to fight those bastards”. I don’t get it. I really don’t get it – I mean I don’t see how people in the middle east are a threat to Americans. All they really want right now I bet is for the Americans to get out of their country so that they can rebuild and re-establish themselves without being in the shadow of a sadistic dictator like Saddam. They must be thankful to be rid of him, but I fail to see how a continuing occupation helps matters and the resulting attacks on US troops just proves to me this resentment. Don’t get me wrong, I like the idea of helping the country establish new roots, but there is obviously something amiss in the attitude that produced Sensus’ response. It seemed very black and white when there are hundreds of shades of grey. Bottom line is, I really hope he isn’t throwing his life away.

