Genre: Fiction
Year:1965

I was delighted to discover that this book – assigned as it was – was terribly entertaining. In fact, I’ve read it again after the fact because of my trip to Greece. The back of the book claims that it is “a highly original satire about Oedipa Maas, a woman who finds herself enmeshed in a worldwide conspiracy” but it never reveals how loony some of the characters really are.

Things then did not delay in turning curious. if one object behind her discovery of what she was to label the Tristero System or often only The Tristero (as if it might be something’s secret title) were to bring to an end her encapsulation in her tower, then that night’s infidelity with Metzger would logically be the starting point for it; logically. That’s what would come to haunt her most, perhaps: the way it fitted, logically, together. ~ Chapter 3, Lot 49

The conspiracy centers around the image of a muted post horn, and the question of whether the conspiracy really exists and Oedipa is discovering it’s existence, or it exists because she is the one making the connections. I started thinking about this novel again when I was in Athens because I saw the post horn symbol on a few places – and in fact one with the mute on it and felt myself falling into Oedipa’s funny little world. I especially like the names of the characters, i.e. Dr. Hillarius and Mike Fallopian. For a short book, there is so much packed into it that every time you read it you can find something new.

