Am trying to get myself used to the idea of being over here, rather than over there, so I might be doing this a couple of times before I can do so… (What can I say, typical bull, not quick to change)

Sore now and I don’t know why. I suppose it might have something to do with the fact that I have been sitting in a chair all day for the past couple of weeks. Training is going all right, I mean the systems seem fairly easy, but my memory is proving to be less than reliable for where to find things. You’d think that they’d make a more user-friendly information environment for their customer service reps so that they could improve the way things ran. I don’t know – I mean the systems I’m learning are far easier and user-friendly than the systems J learned but there are waay too many things to remember. I hope I can get it all in my head soon.

We did call scenarios today and I had an attack of nerves. I hate talking in front of people. I hate it. I’ll do it if I have to, but I hate it. (One advantage to being a Taurus: I’ll do what I have to when necessary. I can do what I have to when necessary, but I don’t have to like it.) Apparently we’re ahead of schedule, which is a good thing. I’m liking most of my classmates so far. There are two who I think regard me as something that dropped out of the Sphynx’s nose, but that may just be my imagination. (Points if you can tell me where I stole that line from.)

I’ve beem getting rides with a co-worker in these past couple of days, which has been nice – means I don’t have to get up at 430am, which has been a relief. I’m still not sure about the guy though, I mean he seems nice, just a little standoffish or something, like he can’t exactly peg me either. Odd.

Got J to go to the doctor today, which in itself is either a major accomplishment or a cause for major concern. He has an intense dislike for doctors, having been used as a guinea pig too often, I’m sure I can understand where he’s coming from, but he’s missed so many days of work that it was time. The doctor prescribed some interesting peach-coloured pills that sound like they also have nasty side effects that I hope do the trick. Personally though: I don’t think he was thorough enough in his questioning J. We were there for a total of 15 minutes. WFT? Do doctors get paid by the patient or something? I mean seriously, what has happened to our health system? Does no one really give two shits about anyone anymore? When did the system start to fail like this? I had to actually prod the doctor to ask questions about what J’s been up against lately – but then J’s not that willing to discuss what his body’s doing with some stranger either, so that left them both at a kind of impasse. One plus to the man J saw today was that he wasn’t prescription-happy. One could almost say he was reluctant to even write the thing.

I could seriously rant about this, because I’m unhappy with the MD I’ve got here at the moment too. Every time I go in I walk out with three or four perscriptions that have nothing to do with what I went in for in the first place. She even suggested that I go on antidepressants. Why? Because I was having mood swings. She didn’t even ask me if I was on birth control or not. I still have the prescription. I bet I could walk in there and ask for anything and she’d just write out the paper. I mean, that’s one step away from medicating myself, isnt’ it? If that’s the case now, what on earth do we need doctors for then? They’re supposed to be the professionals, the ones who have the answers to your questions about something that’s happening with your body that you don’t understand, or that you know isn’t right and help you fix them. If all she’s going to do is give me drugs to make the symptoms go away I’d rather not go at all and let my body sort itself out. Cripes!

