Tags

, , , ,

robin_williams_murio-movilI didn’t write about how the death of Robin Williams affected me. It was unexpected and took quite some time to sink in and by the time it did, many people had already said many of the same things I’d been thinking. He was an amazing and troubled man who gave the gift of laughter to so many people in his lifetime. As legacies go, I feel that is a fine and admirable one. But his death was a loss on a personal level too. So many of his shows and movies shaped a part of my childhood that watching any of them is like taking a trip down memory lane. So it was like losing a friend and I know I am not the only one who felt that way.

color_nimoy_headshotYesterday, on learning of Leonard Nimoy’s death, I felt the same kind of loss. Where Robin Williams had brought tears and laughter into our living rooms, Nimoy brought science – and acceptance. Star Trek, in all it’s incarnations has tackled difficult subjects: slavery, equality, politics and most of all, the power of empathy and humanity. (I mean, Star Trek was the first show to televise an interracial kiss!) But it may not have worked out what way if it weren’t for Nimoy and the chemistry between he and the rest of the crew – especially Shatner. Their friendship became legendary and paved the way for many future science fiction relationships. Spock’s Vulcan nature was of no consequence to Kirk, but his struggle to exist in two worlds was – as it was for us, the audience. “You have been, and always will be, my friend.”

Check out this article on io9

Spock was a man caught between two worlds: his human and Vulcan sides conflicted, and Nimoy gave the character a depth that allowed many to identify with and adore him. And adore him, they did. I was teary one day on twitter when I saw this: he truly loved people and the world responded in kind. Nimoy believed in people, as is evidenced by his work outside acting.

indexAnd now Terry Pratchett who wrote so many delightful books that helped keep my childhood self entertained while I hid in the stacks of the library. I admit, I didn’t read as many of his as I could have – or perhaps should have, but it doesn’t change the fact that he made an impression.

But all of these guys were icons to my developing brain. Rest in peace Gentlemen, you are remembered with fondness.

The life of the dead is placed in the memory of the living. ~Cicero

Listening to: Star Trek: The Original Series
Reading: The White Lioness
Drinking: Pomegranate and Sprite
Word Count: 2795

